My 9-Year-Old Grandson and “Hamilton”

*UPDATE: They already know the song “Aaron Burr, Sir” and were disappointed it wasn’t on the disk. After I told them it was an abbreviated version the first song they asked about was “Guns and Ships,” and then the Cabinet Battles, and THEN Aaron Burr. I knew I was being a careful grandma!

I don’t know how he was first introduced, only that my grandson surprised his mother and other-grandmother (and delighted me!) when he started singing “How does a bastard, orphan, son of a whore and…” 

How to continue to feed this interest while respecting his parents’ (and my) desire to keep things age appropriate not just for him but for his 7-year-old brother as well? How to continue to feed this interest while realizing just because I like to listen to all 2+ hours of Hamilton almost every day doesn’t mean it isn’t a little long for him?

When his mother was using Spotify to let him listen to Hamilton and ended up on an Avenue Q song that most definitely is not age appropriate I knew it was time to act.

I listened while keeping a list of songs and making notes about particular words, themes, etc. It also included my notes of the songs that had to be included (“Aaron Burr, Sir” is the only have-to that I ended up dropping, I’m not going to make his parents explain to his 7-year-old brother about “…intercourse over four sets of corsets…” at least not yet).

The choices are somewhat arbitrary, and I don’t present them as the pinnacle of options, different families will have different parameters. I wanted it all to fit on one CD, there were certain songs I had to have no matter the language, and once I took out “Say No To This” it also made sense to eliminate “The Reynolds Pamphlet” and “Burn.” Both Cabinet Battles were vital (to me).

To be clear, I BOUGHT the CD and I also paid for clean copies of every song available, and if his interest continues, I expect to eventually give him the entire CD, but this is a place to start.

And here’s what I ended up with:

Name Time Album Artist
1 Alexander Hamilton 3:59 Hamilton: An American Musical – Hamilto. Hamilton Original Broadway Cast
2 My Shot 5:35 Hamilton: An American Musical – Hamilto. Hamilton Original Broadway Cast
3 Farmer Refuted 1:55 Hamilton: An American Musical – Hamilto. Hamilton Original Broadway Cast
4 You’ll Be Back 3:30 Hamilton: An American Musical – Hamilto. Hamilton Original Broadway Cast
5 Right Hand Man 5:24 Hamilton: An American Musical – Hamilto. Hamilton Original Broadway Cast
6 Stay Alive 2:41 Hamilton: An American Musical – Hamilto. Hamilton Original Broadway Cast
7 Ten Duel Commandments 1:49 Hamilton: An American Musical – Hamilto. Hamilton Original Broadway Cast
8 Meet Me Inside 1:26 Hamilton: An American Musical – Hamilto. Hamilton Original Broadway Cast
9 That Would Be Enough 3:00 Hamilton: An American Musical – Hamilto. Hamilton Original Broadway Cast
10 Guns And Ships 2:10 Hamilton: An American Musical – Hamilto. Hamilton Original Broadway Cast
11 History Has Its Eyes On You 1:39 Hamilton: An American Musical – Hamilto. Hamilton Original Broadway Cast
12 Yorktown (The World Turned Upside Do. 4:05 Hamilton (Original Broadway Cast Record. Original Broadway Cast of Hamilton
13 What’d I Miss 3:59 Hamilton: An American Musical – Original. Hamilton Original Broadway Cast
14 Cabinet Battle #1 3:37 Hamilton (Original Broadway Cast Record. Christopher Jackson, Daveed Diggs, Lin-.
15 The Room Where It Happens 5:20 Hamilton: An American Musical – Original. Hamilton Original Broadway Cast
16 Cabinet Battle #2 2:25 Hamilton (Original Broadway Cast Record. Christopher Jackson, Daveed Diggs, Lin-.
17 Washington On Your Side 3:03 Hamilton (Original Broadway Cast Record. Leslie Odom, Jr., Daveed Diggs, Okieriete.
18 One Last Time 4:58 Hamilton: An American Musical – Original. Hamilton Original Broadway Cast
19 The Adams Administration 0:57 Hamilton: An American Musical – Original. Hamilton Original Broadway Cast
20 The Election Of 1800 4:00 Hamilton (Original Broadway Cast Record. Daveed Diggs, Okieriete Onaodowan, Les.
21 Your Obedient Servant 2:32 Hamilton: An American Musical – Original. Hamilton Original Broadway Cast
22 Who Lives, Who Dies, Who Tells Your Story 3:37 Hamilton: An American Musical – Original. Hamilton Original Broadway Cast
Leave a Reply

